1.2.16

I know.  I’m completely aware how cliché it is to create a new blog merely hours into a new year.  I’m doing it anyways.

There are moments when I just feel a need to write.  I have always loved writing.  I used to fill notebooks with the beginnings of little stories.  They were absolutely terrible and nonsensical.  I would take my dad’s notepads and declare certain pens of his “lucky pens” if I was feeling particularly creative or inspired, and he would let me keep them.  I remember writing, panicked, worried that if I didn’t get my thoughts onto paper immediately, someone else would come up with those words, publish them, and get the glory for something I could have done.  So…psychology majors, analyze that.

I have since moved past the anxiety of not having original thoughts.  I’ve come to terms with the fact that I’m probably not having any original thoughts, ever.  Which is disheartening, for my creative side.  For my romantic side.  For my narcissistic side.  For my “no one is experiencing life exactly the way that I’m experiencing it” side.  However, I know there is another side of this coin.  For every question I have about how to live life, I know there is someone else out there who has pondered the same thing.  For (almost) every quirk about myself, I know there’s someone else who has also wondered, “Is this normal?”  I know there has to be someone else out there who also proclaims her love for dogs, cloudy skies, passenger seat dancing, AND the color gray.  The internet has showed me that we are not unusual creatures.

But I’m starting this blog anyways

because I want to indulge my creative self.

because I want to chronicle this chapter of my life.

because I want a place to collect my thoughts.

because I’m wearing buffalo check flannel and drinking bourbon.

-s

Leave a Reply

